I’m shipping off from Boston…

That’s what the Magic should have been singing aloud on their way out of Boston.  They did what many people said they wouldn’t and couldn’t do…beat the Celtics at home in a game 7 of the playoffs.  You know what I find the most entertaining about all of this hoopla?  The Magic could have just as easily won this series in 5.  Seriously, think about it…Game 2 was won by a Glen “Big Baby (where child abuse happens)” Davis jumper at the buzzard.  Game 5, the Magic allowed the C’s to end the game on a 17-3 run.

I know, I know…I’m playing the “If” game.  Aren’t all of the so called “Experts”?  You know, like “Well if KG was healthy, then…” and “If Pierce and Allen had played well in one game together, then…” and I’ve also heard “If Rondo had a better series, then…”.  Listen, we can all go back and forth on the “If this, then this!” statements all day long and we will still wind right back up where we are now…to reality!  Which by the way is a series victory for the Magic.

I turned to my Dad last night when Hedo got his 3rd foul of the game in the 2nd quarter and said “That’s not good Dad.  We need him to play well.”.  Hedo did just that, but there is one guy not many people thought would bring his A game (inculding me). Mickael Pietrus.  The Magic really needed someone off the bench to contribute in this game and thank goodness someone answered the call.  Nailing 6/7 FG’s including 3/3 from beyond the arc is huge.  I believe us Magic fans would have been doing more nail biting had he not stepped it up.

There was a lot of tension in this series…a lot!  It was a very physical game that could have seen many more fouls going either way.  I did notice a few specific things though about some Boston players while watching this series.
1.) Perkins never smiles.  He always has this look on his face like he’s about to dropkick Earth right in the forehead.  Smile a little Ken…you’ll feel better!
2.) Rondo gets away with everything.  I don’t know how, but he does.  That’s not a knock on him because if I could do it and get away with it, I would.  But as a fan of the opposing team it becomes quite tiring.
3.) KG talks way too much!  Especially from the bench.  I was talking to a buddy about how I can’t figure out who I dislike more on the Celtics between Perkins, Rondo and KG.  I told him I was leaning towards KG and he said “you weren’t saying that when he was in Minnesota”.  I said because he didn’t run his mouth as much.  He said “yes he did, you just didn’t see it as much because they were only getting 30 or so wins”.  Maybe he’s right there, I don’t know.  I just don’t remember KG ever talking so damn much.  I remember him looking at his watch during one of the games, taunting the Magic bench and saying something like “We got plenty of time!”.  What time you got on the expensive ass watch now KG?  I also remember him on more than one occasion doing some sort of finger walk thing on his hand, which I can only assume means “GTFO”.  Who’s walking home now KG?

All homerism aside, this was a pretty damn good series.  Boston put up a good fight, but in the end the better team prevailed.  That’s the way it goes in a “best of” series far more often than not.  This one was no exception.

Off to Cleveland…

Leave a comment

Filed under Playoffs

Leave a Reply

